Nepal is a landlocked country in South Asia, originally known as the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal. It is mostly in the Himalayas, but it also contains parts of the Indo-Gangetic Plain, bordering Tibet in China to the north and India to the south, east, and west, with the Siliguri Corridor separating it from Bangladesh and Bhutan, and the Indian state of Sikkim separating it from Bhutan. Nepal's landscape is diversified, with fertile plains, subalpine wooded hills, and eight of the world's ten tallest mountains, including Mount Everest, the world's highest peak. Nepal is a multiethnic, multilingual, multireligious, and multicultural country with Nepali as its official language. Kathmandu is the capital and largest city of Nepal.


Bhutan, officially the Kingdom of Bhutan, is a landlocked country in the Eastern Himalayas, sandwiched between China and India in the Southern Asia geographical subregion. It is a mountainous region. Bhutan is known as the "Land of the Thunder Dragon," or "Druk Yul." Although Nepal and Bangladesh are close neighbors, they do not share a land border. With a population of about 754,000 people and a land size of 38,394 square kilometers (14,824 square miles), the country is ranked 133rd in terms of land area and 160th in terms of population. Bhutan is a constitutional monarchy that practices Vajrayana Buddhism.


Tibet is a region in East Asia that encompasses much of the Tibetan Plateau and spans around 2,500,000 square kilometers (970,000 sq mi). It is the traditional homeland of Tibetans as well as other ethnic groups such as the Monpa, Tamang, Qiang, Sherpa, and Lhoba peoples, and it is now home to a sizable population of Han Chinese and Hui people. Tibet is the world's highest region, at an average elevation of 4,380 meters (14,000 ft). Mount Everest, the world's highest mountain, rises 8,848.86 meters (29,032 feet) above sea level in Tibet, which is located in the Himalayas.